Jarmo Hoogendijk (trumpet) PDF Print
In 1986 trumpet player Jarmo Hoogendijk (born in The Hague in 1965) assumed the position of solo trumpeter in the Dutch Jazz Orchestra, a position formerly held by Ack van Rooyen. He is also a soloist with the Netherlands Concert Jazz Band and the Rein de Graaff/Dick Vennik Sextet. He has toured the US as a guest with the Dutch Radio Big Band "the Skymasters". Jarmo won the Pall Mall Export Swing Award in 1986 and has represented the Netherlands at the jazz events EBU/Nordring in Helsinki in 1988 and at Lignano, Italy, in 1989. He graduated cum laude from the Royal Conservatory in The Hague. Jarmo has worked with Art Taylor, Charles McPherson, Teddy Edwards, Jimmy Heath, J.J. Johnson, the Ron Matthews Trio, Frank Foster, Clark Terry, Benny Bailey and Lew Soloff. He joined the EUROPEAN JAZZ ENSEMBLE in 1994. On March 5th 1988 Woody Shaw said about Jarmo Hoogendijk: "Jarmo plays just like he is in his character, a gentleman, but dangerous on the trumpet.....You all should be very proud of him". The Dutch Magazine Keynotes had this to say about him in 1988: "Jarmo is already being called the country's greatest post-war trumpet-player". He appears on the recordings: EUROPEAN JAZZ ENSEMBLE "20th Anniversary" (KCD 5078 /1996) & European Trumpet Summit "Live" (KCD 5064, Konnex, Berlin)